Excerpt Four from IF YOU STAY

30 Jan

Sooooo.  I’m in sunny Florida, but I had to pop in to post excerpt four from IF YOU STAY.

IfyouStay Amazon (2)

This excerpt is from Mila’s POV.

********

I am humming as I duck out of the shop to grab a sandwich for lunch.  As I pause to lock the door, I notice Pax’s black car parked on the street twenty yards from my shop.  My head snaps up and I stare at it, my fingers frozen.  He’s not in it.  I don’t know if I am relieved or not.

“Looking for someone?”

Pax’s voice is right behind me.

You’ve got to be kidding me.  This is too coincidental.  I slowly turn to find myself face to face with the very man who has invaded my thoughts.  Pax smiles, a slow panty-dropping grin.

“Are you stalking me again, Miss Hill?” He cocks an eyebrow.

My heart hammers.

“What?” I choke out.  “This is my shop.”

Pax shrugs.  “And that’s my car.  You were staring at it like you were hoping I would get out of it.”

I’m guilty of that.  I can’t say a word in my defense.  Instead, I stare at him like an idiot.

“What are you doing downtown?” I finally manage, changing the subject.

“I don’t cook,” he explains.  “I’m making a food run.  The bar down the street makes good burgers.”

“Oh,” I answer dumbly.  “That’s what I’m doing too.”

He lifts his eyebrow again.

“Not the bar,” I add quickly.  “I’m going to the deli, next door to the bar.”

Pax smiles again.  “All by yourself?  Haven’t you heard that there are some bad things going on in Angel Bay?  Just a while back, some dumbass overdosed on the beach.  They’re letting all kinds of assholes in nowadays, I guess.  It’s probably not safe for you to walk alone.”

I have to grin now, at his audacity.

“Oh, really?  Wow.  That does sound bad.  Assholes are just running loose on our streets.  We never know when we’ll bump into one now, I guess.”

“How very true,” he answers softly, his golden eyes frozen on mine.  Sweet Jesus.  The man has beautiful eyes.  So bottomless and warm.  Like hot caramel.  I gulp.

“Is this when you take your lunch every day?” he finally asks, breaking the silent stare.

“If I go out,” I answer.  “Are you planning on stalking me again?”

We’re still standing in the middle of the sidewalk, but Pax doesn’t seem to care.  Instead, he grins.

“Maybe,” he answers, before holding his arm out like a gentleman.

“Since I’m here and you’re here and we’re both going in the same direction… I’ll walk you today.  I’ll keep the wolves at bay.”

I stare up at him as I slip my fingers into the crook of his leather covered elbow.

“I thought you were the baddest wolf of them all?”

He grins again, wickedly. It lights up his eyes with a gleam.

“That’s probably true,” he admits.  “Are you afraid?”

“I should be,” I tell him.

But I’m not.

He walks me to the deli’s door and steps away from me.  I feel the absence of his warmth immediately.

“Have a good day, Mila Hill,” he tells me, his eyes flickering up and down the length of me.  “Watch out for those wolves.”

And he’s gone.  He disappears into the bar and I realize that I’m standing alone outside. I shake my head and sigh, going inside to order my sandwich.  I have no idea what just happened, but Pax Tate is firmly in my head now.  And I have the feeling he’s not going anywhere.  My stomach flutters and I realize that I like that thought.

********

I hope you like it and that you’re wanting to read IF YOU STAY as much as I am wanting for it to be released!  I might die before February 12.  OHmygosh.

Don’t forget… you can still enter to win a signed ARC of IF YOU STAY here.  Winners will be drawn on Feb 5.

Have a great day!

2 Responses to “Excerpt Four from IF YOU STAY”

  1. Bayli Lane January 30, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    I am waiting (not so patiently) for this book! God, every excerpt just makes me want it even more!

    • Courtney Cole January 30, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

      I am waiting not-so-patiently for the release toooo! 🙂 I really hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

