Interview with Elena Kontou from Dante’s Girl

9 Jul

Soooooooo, during my recent interviews with the characters from Dante’s Girl, we’ve heard from Dante, Reece and Mia.  But there’s still a person who I’ve been dying to interview and I hope you’re dying to hear from her, too.  Elena Kontou, the meanest girl in Caberra.

She came into my office this morning, dressed in a simple pencil skirt and green silk blouse that perfectly matches her eyes. But there was something else that she was wearing that I was totally not expecting.  A scar.

Mia mentioned it the other day, but in my head, I didn’t imagine that it was that big a deal. But it sort of is.  It runs down along the length of her cheekbone.  And now I can’t take my eyes away from it.  And it would be rude to ask about it.  Except that Elena herself is rude.  So does that give me a pass?  Um, I’ll think about that as I start her interview.  I might go for it.

*squares shoulders and looks at Elena*

Me:  Hi, Elena.  Thank you for being here today.

Elena:  *coolly* The pleasure is mine, I’m sure.

Me:  *annoyed already*   When I say the name Dante Giliberti, what is the first word that comes to mind?

Elena:  Friend.

Me:  That surprises me.  Do you still consider each other friends?

Elena:  I certainly consider him a friend.  We grew up together.  Our fathers are the best of friends.  I highly doubt that our involvement is over simply because he is dating someone else right now.

Me:  Hmm. That sounds like you’re not quite over him.

Elena:  He’ll always be an important part of my life.

Me:  You can tell you are a politician’s daughter.  You certainly know how to skirt questions.   Okay- next one.  What are your plans for this next year?

Elena:  To finish my senior year and go on with life.

Me:  Good plan.  Are you seeing a plastic surgeon about that scar on your cheek?

*Dead silence*  I’m momentarily shocked that I broached this subject, but Elena totally deserves it.

Elena:  Yes.  My cheek was burned in the explosion on The Daniella.  It’s healing more and more by the day.

Me:  I don’t mean to sound rude, but does it change your life at all?

Elena:  Of course not.  It’s just a little mark.  It will eventually be fixed anyway.

I can tell by her face that she is lying. She is used to being perfect, so a scar must be life-altering for her.  But I decide not to push the matter.  I was born and raised in Kansas, you know.  I’ve got manners and I sometimes even use them.

Me: Well, that is a relief. You have a beautiful face.  I hate to see it marred at all by memories of that accident.

Elena:  *firmly*  It’s not marred. It will be fine.

Me:  Changing the subject, is there anything you’ve learned from this entire incident?

Elena:  Yes.  I’ve learned to never let my guard down.  There are evil people out there and they will stop at nothing to get what they want.

Has she been looking in the mirror again?? 

Me:  That is so true.  And I daresay that Reece and Dante learned that very same thing.

Elena:  I wouldn’t know. You’d have to ask them.

Me:  I probably will sometime.  Thank you, Elena, for coming and answering my questions.  My readers will love getting some insight into your character, I’m sure.

Elena:  I’m sure.

* * *

Yikes.  My office temperature dropped a couple of degrees just from her presence.  What an ice queen. As Reece would say, what a complete and utter wench.  Sorry for my language.  But geez.

If you haven’t read Dante’s Girl, you can find it here on Amazon and here on Barnes and Noble.

I hope everyone is having a fabulous day!

 

One Response to “Interview with Elena Kontou from Dante’s Girl”

  1. Caitlin July 9, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    I don’t know how Dante put up with her. Must be more about his being polite than actually being friendly because Elena is so not friendly.

Leave a Reply

