Just a Note About Reviews

6 Jul

Hi there,

I hope you’re all having a fabulous holiday week!  I’m personally on vacation this week, but I wanted to write a little reminder about reviews.

I’ve had SO MANY people write me emails this week and tell me how much they loved Dante’s Girl.  And that makes me so incredibly happy.  VERY VERY VERY FREAKISHLY HAPPY.  🙂   THANK YOU so much for not only reading my book, but also taking the time to write me and tell me.  SO nice of you!!

I was feeling so blessed today thinking about that.  And then shortly after, I noticed that Dante’s Girl only has a handful of reviews.   And so many people have told me that they loved it.  So, I pondered that for a bit.  And then I decided that readers probably don’t truly understand how important their opinions are about books.

Reviews are like GOLD to authors, particularly on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.  So many other readers base their sales decisions off of what other people say about a book.  They scroll down through the reviews and if there are enough good reviews, they choose to take a chance on the book. (or vice versa– if the reviews are horrible, they choose not to buy).

Basically, this is a note to ask that if you read a book and you love it, take just a few minutes and write a quick review for that author- whether it is me or anyone else.  Besides helping a book’s rank, authors really do like to receive feedback on their work.  If you don’t like something, don’t hesitate to say that, too.  We do like the feedback.   We don’t enjoy it so much when it is hateful or mean as I have seen from time to time, but if it is honest, tactful feedback, we love it.  Not only do we love it, but it does help us become better writers.

We’re all busy- I know that.  And so as a thank you for taking time out of your hectic day to write a review for Dante’s Girl on Amazon or Barnes and Noble, I would like to offer you a signed cover glossy.   (Basically it is a 4×6 glossy print of the cover signed by me).  All you have to do is email a link to your review– to my email: courtneycolewrites@gmail.com and include your mailing address.

I really appreciate you guys!!  So, SO SO MUCH.   Thank you for reading my work, thank you for telling me that you love it and thank you for any reviews that you might write- whether it is for me or for any other writer.  I know that I can speak for writers as a whole when I say that we SOOOO appreciate it!   And you.

Have a fabulous holiday week!!

 

One Response to “Just a Note About Reviews”

  1. Caitlin July 6, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    I do hope more readers put out reviews. Not just for Dante’s Girl but for any book. I love putting my opinion out there so more people will read the books I have read and loved. And its super cool when authors take notice and the like the reviews, like you have.

Leave a Reply

