Happy Father’s Day!

15 Jun

It seemed appropriate to write a Father’s Day post today. Since Father’s Day is Sunday.  Which I was just reminded of yesterday.  So, I’m writing this post for the three most important fathers that I know.

My own- both of them.  And my husband.  Because he’s a pretty dang good dad.

I was blessed with two dads.

One of them is gone now.  He died six years ago.  And still to this day, it seems like yesterday.   He taught me the importance of being yourself no matter what other people think.  He taught me the importance of dancing in the car at red lights- and that is particularly useful nowadays since my kids are old enough to embarrass with those particular shennanigans– and he taught me the importance of humility and having a great sense of humor.  He was known to throw frozen turkeys at me in grocery stores and playing ridiculous pranks on me and my friends.  He taught me to play golf and how to speak in public.   And how to drive.  And the importance of loving Bob Segar.

My other dad is still here and still gigantic and awesome.  My family is big.  My dad is huge, my uncle is even more huge and I’m pretty tall for a chick- 5’10”.  I’ve got the long legs and big feet to prove it.  And I get those from my dad.  He taught me the importance of silence- how it isn’t always wise to speak your mind right when you think something– sometimes it is better to sit on it for awhile.  And he taught me to play basketball.  And how to crack an egg with one hand.

I was very, very blessed to have two dads.  Both of them taught me a million different things about being an individual. And if it weren’t for them, I wouldn’t be the person that I am today.   So thank you, to both of you.  I love you both- and I hope that you both have a very happy Father’s Day– both in Heaven and in Kansas.  And to my dad in Kansas, I just mailed your card this morning- so I hope you get it by tomorrow.  🙂  If not, I’m sorry- I suck.

To my husband:  Thank you for being such an amazing father to our kids.  Thank you for playing catch with Tristan, and driving with Gunner and teaching Bella how to not throw like a girl.  Even though I think it’s perfectly fine that she throws like a girl because she is a girl.   Thank you for being the strong  and positive male influence that they need.  In this day and age, that’s more important than ever.  So thank you for providing them with that.  They’re going to turn out wonderfully- in no small part to you.  I hope you have a great day.  I’m not getting you a PS3, but I still hope your day is wonderful.  🙂  I love you.  You are my very own Prince Charming.

And to all of the dads out there:   There are two most important jobs in this world– being a mother and being a father.  Every little thing you do, whether it is positive or negative, will impact the lives of your kids.  Make your actions positive so that your kids absorb that behavior and mimic it in their own.  It’s the most important thing you will ever do.  Play catch. Read ‘one more’ book at bedtime.  Go for a walk.  Go to softball practice.  Your kids will remember these things forever. And it will eventually turn them into great parents, too.    I hope each and every one of you has a wonderful Father’s Day!  🙂

Leave a Reply

