Utter Randomness: The Best Iced Coffee Recipe- EVER

6 May

Happy Sunday!!

I’m supposed to be writing right now… while my house is serene and quiet (because all of the monsters are still asleep.  My daughter used to take offense at being referred to as a monster, but she’s gotten used to it….) but I felt the need to share this recipe with you first.  Because it’s awesome.

So, I love iced coffee.  LOVE it.   And while cruising around on Pinterest the other day wasting time, when again I should have been writing, I came across a link to this iced coffee recipe.  After I read the blog entry, I was surprised to learn that I’ve been doing it all wrong this whole time!

You aren’t supposed to brew hot coffee and refrigerate it– you are supposed to COLD-BREW the coffee with a LOT more coffee than you normally would use.   At first, I was a little skeptical and I thought, ‘Is this really going to make enough of a difference to warrant the extra work?”

Um, the answer is YES.  Yes, it is just that delicious.  And honestly, it’s not extra work.  It’s easy.

You can find step-by-step instructions here on The Pioneer Woman’s blog (which I just subscribed to.  If she can totally change my life with this iced coffee recipe, who knows what other magical tidbits she’ll have up her sleeve?  Well, I for one, want to find out!)

But.  The gist is:  You dump an entire bag of your favorite ground coffee into a huge bowl.  Fill with a gallon of water and cover overnight.  In the morning, line a strainer with either cheesecloth or coffee filters.  (I used the filters because I don’t have any cheesecloth).  Dump the coffee mixture through the strainer into a clean container.  I did this process twice to make sure that I got all of the grounds out.  Then, pour it into a pitcher.  It can stay in the fridge that way for a month or so.

The Pioneer Woman lists a recipe of condensed milk to use in the coffee, but I haven’t tried that yet.  For me, I fill my glass with ice, fill it 3/4 full with the coffee, use 4 packs Splenda, then dump Sweet Italian Cream creamer into it.  OMGosh.  It’s the best iced coffee I’ve ever had.   My husband didn’t believe me that it was so much better than normal, so he took a dubious sip of mine- and I swear to you.  His eyes glazed over and he practically ran to the fridge to make his own.  Seriously.  It’s good.

So good that I wanted to share it with you.  🙂  Since I start my morning every day in the Spring, Summer and Fall with iced coffee (I usually drink hot coffee when it’s snowy), this recipe has seriously changed my mornings.   Thank you, Pioneer Woman!

Okay.  Enough of my random musings.  I’ve gotta get to writing while I still have peace and quiet around here.  Have a great Sunday everyone!

4 Responses to “Utter Randomness: The Best Iced Coffee Recipe- EVER”

  1. spinasana May 18, 2012 at 12:14 am #

    did you use 1 gallon and a pound of coffee? or did you use a 12oz bag and a gallon? or did you use her measurements? you threw me off with the gallon and the bag 😉 I’m trying it tonight which is why I am asking!

    • Courtney Cole May 18, 2012 at 1:59 am #

      Hi there,
      I used a gallon of cold water and a regular sized bag of ground coffee. (I think it’s a lb bag…). I bet a 12 oz bag would work just as well though. It steeps overnight and by morning, it looks like mud on top.

  2. Danna Gregory June 1, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    Yum!!! Love the Ice Coffee. Finally tried it out.

  3. Maureen June 17, 2012 at 2:44 am #

    Wait…Sweet Italian creamer *and* splenda? Holy moly! LOL! I made this coffee and used the sweetened condensed milk and to be honest my eyes might’ve rolled back in my head a little bit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

