YA Indie Carnival: Thanksgiving!

25 Nov

 

Happy Day-After-Thanksgiving, everyone!

The topic of this week’s YA Indie Carnival is Thanksgiving and I’m writing it as I sit here eating a left-over piece of Thanksgiving peanut butter pie and a hot cup of Kona coffee.  So yummy!

Thanksgiving truly is a time to be thankful.  I think, as Americans, we tend to forget what all we have to be thankful for.  We get caught up in the business and hectic chaos of our lives and forget that our lives are pretty great.  I know that I do.  Yesterday, I was sitting in the airport in Chicago with my daughter, waiting to pick up family, and I was not happy about waiting. I forgot that I was there to meet my family and I that I had a couple of extra hours to kill with my zany, beautiful daughter.   This is us while we were waiting:

Anyway, so the slight delay at the airport wound up giving my daughter and I some extra mommy-daughter time. We got pizza and chatted over a little bistro table.  Which of course, made me start to think.  Life is full of incidents like that- incidents that we automatically get annoyed about, but there is usually a silver lining.   And my point, which I’m sorry that it’s taken me a while to get to, is that we’ve all got a lot to be thankful for.  I’m so thankful for my family, my home, my friends, my writing, and just basically my life.

Now, I’m going to go back to my pie and my coffee and try to write a little bit more before I take my daughter to the movie that I promised her. (A little thing called Breaking Dawn).  I hope everyone has a beautiful day after Thanksgiving.  For those of you going to Black Friday sales, good luck!  For those of you who aren’t, like me, enjoy your quiet day.

Leave a Reply

