YA Indie Carvnival: Fave Halloween Memory

21 Oct

Happy Friday!  Happy YA Indie Carnival day! 

First of all, I need to apologize.  I haven’t been blogging much lately.  I’ve been swamped in other projects and I’ve totally let my blog slide. I’m sorry!  I’ll try to be better. 

Second…. Happy Friday!  Woohooo!!  Today’s topic for the YA Indie Carnival is our favorite childhood Halloween memory.  I llllloooooovvvveeee Halloween.  For some strange reason, it is my favorite holiday.  I love the feeling of magic that surrounds this day, the slightly scary vibe that I get when I remember that Halloween is ‘supposed’ to be the time of year when the veil between the living and dead is the thinnest.  Creepy, right? 

Anyway, I think my fave childhood memory is from one year when my mom threw my sisters and I a huge Halloween party in my grandpa’s barn.  I think I was maybe 8 or 9.   We invited all of our friends, it was dark out, we played tons of fun games, had scary music… and then towards the middle of the party, my uncles all swooped in through the doors, windows, hayloft, etc… dressed up as werewolves.  

My mom had kept this part a secret, so my sisters and I were just as scared as our friends were.  My uncles chased us all around and after that, we were all scared to even leave the barn, because my uncles were lying in wait outside, just waiting to chase us again.  It was really cool. 

In later years, when I was in Jr. High and High School,  a good friend of mine used to host a Halloween party out on her dad’s farm.   We’d have the party in the barn, we’d watch scary movies in the house and then we’d scare ourselves silly walking around outside, back and forth to the barn.  Of course, by this time, there were boys involved, which changed everything.  🙂   I think we watched Pet Sematary during one of those parties- and even though it seems hokey now, Pet Sematary used to be one scary movie. 

So, anyway.  I have tons of great Halloween memories.   Please visit some of my awesome indie colleagues to read about some of theirs!  🙂   Have a great weekend, folks!

1. Laura A. H. Elliott author of Winnemucca & 13 on Halloween, Book 1 in the Teen Halloween Series 2. Bryna Butler, author Midnight Guardian series
3. Heather Self 4. T. R. Graves, Author of The Warrior Series
5. Suzy Turner, author of The Raven Saga 6. Darby Karchut, author of GRIFFIN RISING
7. Lexus Luke 8. PJ Hoover, Author of SOLSTICE, Blogging at ROOTS IN MYTH
9. Cheri Schmidt, author of the Fateful Trilogy 10. Rachel Coles, author of Into The Ruins, geek mom blog
11. K. C. Blake, author of Vampires Rule and Crushed 12. Patti Larsen, The Hunted series and The Hayle Coven series
13. Courtney Cole, author of The Bloodstone Saga 14. Amy Maurer Jones, Author of The Soul Quest Trilogy
15. Dani Snell’s Refracted Light Reviews 16. Fisher Amelie, author of The Understorey
17. M. Leighton, Blood Like Poison Series, Madly, The Reaping 18. Abbi Glines, author of Breathe and The Vincent Boys
19. Kimberly Kinrade, Bits of You & Pieces of Me, Forbidden Mind 20. Madeline Smoot, Missing, Summer Shorts, and The Girls
21. Cidney Swanson, author of Rippler 22. Nicole Williams, author of Eternal Eden, Falling Eden
23. Gwenn Wright, author of Filter  
3 Responses to “YA Indie Carvnival: Fave Halloween Memory”

  1. Amy Jones October 21, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Awesome! You have some uber cool uncles, Courtney! I can visualize little girls swarming in panic inside of a spooky barn with werewolves nipping at their ankles. I think this should be your next paranormal writing inspiration. Giggly girls… check, creepy barn… check, werewolves… check. Would more do you need? lol! 🙂

  2. Kimberly Kinrade (@KimberlyKinrade) October 21, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    Oh WOW! That is one seriously awesome Halloween party. Now I have to do something like that for my kids! How fun!

  3. Laura A. H. Elliott October 22, 2011 at 12:34 am #

    How scary & fun!! Uncle Werewolf:) Has a nice ring to it. I love the barn too. This is a great idea. *mwah*

Leave a Reply

