It’s Friday! YA Indie Carnival Time- woohoo!

14 Oct

Happy Friday, everyone!!   So… you know what Friday means around here… YA Indie Carnival time!   Woohoo!!

The topic today is:  What is your best fan experience/fan e-mail/fan art/fan mail?   And that is a realy hard decision! 

I looooooooove getting fan e-mails.  LOVE it.  Nothing makes my day more than someone taking time out of their day to tell me how much they loved my books, or how my books kept them up reading way too late, etc.  It makes  my heart warm and smiley.  So, thank you to everyone who has contacted me– you truly make me smile and I appreciate each and every one of you!

I have to say though, there was something a couple of weeks ago that I really appreciated and it really made me think. 

As some of you know, I usually ask two fans to beta read for me (to read a finished manuscript and offer their input on what they liked, didn’t like, etc).   I usually just scroll down the reviews on Goodreads and pick two.  Anyway, I did that with My Tattered Bonds awhile ago.   And one of the readers who I chose sent me the nicest email.

She said that the day that I had emailed her, she had been waiting by her computer- anxious to receive travel clearance in order to fly overseas to pick up the daughter that she has been anxiously waiting to adopt.  She was stressed about the situation and my email took her mind off of it for a little while.  She was super-excited about being a beta reader and her email made me feel good and it reminded me of something.

All of us, no matter what we do or who we are,  have the power to affect someone’s life.  Our decisions, our behaviors, they can change someone’s day.  So, smile at the gas station attendant, be nice to the grocery cashier, spend some extra time playing basketball with your kids. Because you know what?  That’s the kind of thing that is important in life.  People won’t remember you for the things that you’ve done or accomplished- they will remember you for how you treat them.

Anyway, I’ll step off of my soapbox.  It’s just that she reminded me of something important and I thank her for that. 

Exciting things for me this week- My Tattered Bonds, the finale of the Bloodstone Saga, has been released early.  Woohoo!  You can find it on Amazon here.  I am blessed and humbled that it debuted on Amazon’s mythology bestseller’s list.  🙂

My indie girls have a lot of exciting things going on, too:

At the end of the month, a group of my friends will be in Savannah, GA for a booksigning. Regrettably, I can’t make it.  But YOU can, if you like.  You can find the details here.    

This is cool:  30% of the proceeds from Lexus Luke’s Manitou The Sky People Saga go to the ASPCA.

The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines will release on October 21. You can see its trailer here. 

For a limited time, Kimberly Konrade is selling signed copies of her thriller, Forbidden Mind.   She’s also including some cool gifts.  Details here.    

And there’s a giveaway on Gwen Wright’s blog. When she reaches 100 followers, she will give away a signed copy of Filter and cool coffee mugs.   

So, make sure to check these lovely ladies out. And for more, check out these awesome girls.  Have a great day everyone!

2 Responses to “It’s Friday! YA Indie Carnival Time- woohoo!”

  1. Darby Karchut October 14, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    What an upbeat post – I’m smiling ear to ear!

  2. trgraves October 15, 2011 at 1:18 am #

    That was a great fan experience!

Leave a Reply

