YA Indie Carnival: My Favorite Character

7 Oct

 

Happy Friday!  Happy YA Indie Carnival day!  Woohoo!!

So… the topic for today is:  What character has been my favorite to write and why?   And I have to tell you, that is a really hard question.  I love most of the characters that I have written.  Geesh.

But.  After a LOT of thought, I have decided that my favorite character has been Whitney from my novel, Guardian.  And I think the main reason is that she was my first character that I ever wrote about.  And just a like a first-born has a special place in your heart, so too does your first fictional character.

Whitney Lane is 16 and even though she’s emotionally fragile because her dad just died, she’s really strong, too- and she ends up taking care of her mom and her sister for a while- holding everything together.  And then, lo and behold, supernatural elements in the world are exposed to her and rather than fall apart herself, she becomes stronger than ever.

Here’s an excerpt from when Whitney first meets her guardian angel:

‘“Who are you?” I asked curiously, unable to take my eyes from him.

I wasn’t scared. I probably should be, but I only felt expectant, like I should already know the answer but just didn’t remember it. Like when you forget something but it lingers on the tip of your tongue, so close but just out of recall. He didn’t seem threatening, so I took a step toward him.

“I know you.” I still felt the strange magnetic pull to him but resisted it, standing with my feet planted instead, while I waited for him to answer me. It was odd how hard it was to resist it.

“How do I know you?”

He looked at me with brilliant aquamarine eyes, as clear and beautiful as a tropical ocean in the sunlight. I’ve never seen eyes that color before, and I realized with a start that they were the exact shade of the Mediterranean that sparkled in the picture that I loved of my parents.

His brown hair curled against the nape of his neck and his bangs swept easily across his forehead.   His slender arms hosted lean muscle, nothing flashy, nothing showy. He shifted forward again, and as he moved, I got the same feeling again in the pit of my stomach, stronger this time…like Déjà Ju.  At the same time, I knew for certain that I had never actually seen him before because I would remember that. But I knew him.

“I’m confused,” I heard myself whisper softly, but I didn’t mean to make a sound. The uncertain words had spilled out without my permission.

My common sense finally kicked in and I backed up- away from this curiosity. Away from him– because I knew in my heart that something wasn’t normal here. He advanced as I retreated; his eyes shimmering oddly in the sun, rippling like someone had dropped a rock in a pool of water. My breath froze in my throat. 

“What are you?”

“Don’t be afraid, Whitney. I won’t hurt you.” His voice was soothingly deep and masculine – maybe a little too much so for his boyish body- and he held up his hands. His fingers were long and I could see unexpected strength there.

He knew my name and I knew his voice. It touched something deep within me and I stopped moving. He smiled and it was like the sun and the moon and the stars and all other possible sources of natural light were radiating from him at that moment. His teeth were white and brilliant and his face brightened the entire beach around us. There was no denying that he was beautiful, but it was more than that. Being next to him touched something inside of me, like a guitarist strumming a chord.  He was familiar, like home.’

I’ll always have a soft spot for that book and for Whitney.  Of course, that said, I love all of my other characters too.  Harmonia is another favorite.   I mean, writing a first person perspective from a goddess’ point of view is pretty fun.

Okay, so there are a couple of things going on with my fellow carnies:

From Rachel:

Beyond The Veil: A Ghost Story Anthology by Rachel Coles is out on Kindle!
Smashwords at http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/94161

From Darby:
Griffin Rising is a nominee for the 2011 Cybils Awards (YA fantasy).

From Laura:

In Portland, OR Tonight, Friday Oct 7th 6:30-8:15 pm at the West Linn Library, West Linn, OR 97068 I’ll be on tour with The Rain Boots Required Young Adult Authors talking about “The magic of magical realism”!
Also at Wordstock Oct 8-9:)

From Dani:
I will be having an interview with fellow carnie Kimberly Kinrade on the blog tomorrow      and a giveaway for her first book in the Forbidden series, Forbidden Mind.   http://refractedlightreviews.com/?p=2580

So, check them out and here is the list of my carnie friends for you to check out today, as well.  They all rock.  Have a wonderful weekend, y’all.  I’m personally going to be spending it at Cedar Point with my family…home of the fastest roller coasters ever.  If I don’t have a heart attack at some point, I’ll be back on Monday!  🙂

3 Responses to “YA Indie Carnival: My Favorite Character”

  1. madelinesmoot October 7, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    She sounds very fascinating. I can’t wait to read her book.

  2. trgraves October 7, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    I love stories where adversity makes the characters stronger…because that is the true test of someone in the real world.

  3. Patti Larsen October 7, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    Whitney seems fantastic–and like you, my favorite is my first YA MC–there’s something so fabulous about that first writing connection.

Leave a Reply

