YA Indie Carnival: First Day of School

16 Sep

 

Hey guys!  It’s Friday!  Whooohooo!

And that means that it’s YA Indie Carnival time.  This week, we’re supposed to be talking about Back To School- either a great memory or a scene from one of books featuring back to school.

But, I thought and I thought and I don’t have anything special to share for this topic!  I know, right??  I can’t believe it, either.  The most interesting thing that ever happened to me during back-to-school time was my freshman year of high school- I somehow managed to get my legs covered in poison ivy and so I started my high school life looking like a leper.  Oh, the horror. 

So, in the absence of something cool to talk about, I’ll skip to the next thing.  This is REALLY cool.  A bunch of my YA friends are going to do a Haunted Book Tour in Savannah, GA in October.  I WISH I could go, but my schedule isn’t permitting this time.  Grrrr.  But I’ll catch them next time. But perhaps you would like to go?  Here’s the super cool website where you can check out the details.   http://www.theplumessociety.com/

Also, supercool, the winners of last week’s drawings.  Woohoo!  Free stuff is always cool!  So, here are the winners:

Dani Snell’s Winner is BBurton! You’ve won a Kindle copy of PineLight by Jillian Peery
and a Kindle copy of Filter by Gwenn Wright.
Patti’s Winner is Emily Tardy! Kindle copy of Run and Hide (YA thrillers, 1 and 2 in a series of 4)
Courtney’s Winner is Darby Karchut!
Kindle copy Every Last Kiss
Fisher’s Winner is Winner Cassandra!
Kindle copy The Understorey
Laura’s Winner is Vivien!
Kindle digitally-signed edition of Winnemucca & Winnemucca Coffee Mug
Rachel’s Winner is amabe421!
Kindle copy Into The Ruins
T.R. Graves’ Winner is LuvToRead09!
Kindle copy of Warriors of the Cross
Cyndi Tefft’s Winner is Paige!
Kindle copy Between
PJ’s Winner is Kimy Unalesca!
Kindle copy Solstice
Alicia’s Winner is Julie Witt!
Assortment of awesome YA paperbacks
Heather’s Winner is Avery Olive!
Kindle copy of Perception
Abbi’s Winner is Jess!
Kindle copy of Breathe plus very cool Breathe beach bag
Cheri’s Winner is The Queen of Teen Fiction!
Kindle copy of Fracture
Amy’s Winner is krystallarson!
Kindle copy of Soul Quest
Nicole’s Winner is Emily Ann Ward!
Kindle copy of Fallen Eden

My winner was Darby Karchut.  So, Darby (what a cool name!) I’ll be emailing you with your e-copy of Every Last Kiss.  I hope you like it!

So, that’s about it.   My life is a blur lately- I’m knee-deep in writing book four of the Bloodstone Saga (My Tattered Bonds) and it’s going really well.  I’m at that point where I don’t want to stop writing- not to eat, drink or sometimes shower or breathe.  And that’s where my hubbs steps in and reminds me how important hygiene is.  🙂

I’m also currently reading Alexander Death by my awesome friend J.L. Bryan.  It’s the third and final installment of the Jenny Pox books (The Paranormals Series).   It will be available toward the end of the month, I believe, and it is awesome. If you like spine-tingling, raise-the-hair-at-the-back-of-your-neck novels, this is one for you.   I’ll post a review about it later. 

Hope everyone has an AWESOME weekend.   And you should totally continue around the carnival circuit and see what my colleagues are up to.  They’re bound to have some better back-to-school stories than mine.  

5 Responses to “YA Indie Carnival: First Day of School”

  1. Darby Karchut September 16, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Holy moly! I LOVE winning books! I’ill be in contact with you shortly, Courtney, and thank you for making my day. Heck, my weekend!

  2. Kimberly Kinrade (@KimberlyKinrade) September 16, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Awesome! I understand being knee deep in writing. Am getting book 2 of my FORBIDDEN series done, then book 3, and book 1 of another series… all before Xmas. Yikes! Awesome giveaways! Excited to be part of the YA Indie Carnival!

  3. Dani @ Refracted Light Reviews September 16, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Oh man! Starting 9th grade covered in poison ivy. That would’ve been world-ending if that had happened to my overly-dramatic 14 year-old self.

    And man, I agree. I’m so jealous of all those lucky Plumes. I’d love to go to Savannah this year, but it’s just not happening.

    Congrats to Darby! 🙂

  4. trgraves September 17, 2011 at 4:02 am #

    Poison ivy and high school. *Yikes* Thanks for the great post. Have a good weekend.

  5. rachelcoles September 23, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Ack, poison ivy on top of everything else, awkwardness, etc. We can use our imaginations on that one. Thanks for sharing. Sorry it took me so long to get to this post. I wasn’t online last Friday.

Leave a Reply

