Why I Wrote Guardian

13 Sep

Many people think that because Every Last Kiss was my debut novel, that it was the first book that I had ever written.  Not so.  I wrote my book, Guardian, first. And for some reason that I can’t explain, I feel like talking about it today. 

On a crisp, cool April day in 2006, the angels sang and everyone else cried.  My dad (well, one of them- I have two) collapsed while he was playing basketball with the youth group and he died before he hit the ground.   (Yes, I am a preacher’s kid.  Let the jokes commence now.)

He was only 52 and he was funny, witty and everyone loved him.  This is him:

He had a blood clot in his lung that no one knew about.   And because he didn’t know that it was there, it sneaked up and killed him quietly– even though he himself was always larger than life.  When he entered a room, he owned it.   

We were devastated.  As grief often is, it was overwhelming and it consumed us.  It took quite a while for us to figure out our new family dynamic and how to function without him around. 

So, I turned to writing.  I scribbled in tons of journals but one day I thought… you know, I should write something about this whole experience, because it is something that everyone will go through at some point in their life, in some form.  I decided against a self-help book because you know what? I have no credentials for that. I’m simply a girl who lost her dad.  So I did what I do best… I created something fictional.

Whitney Lane was born.  She’s a 16-year old girl who recently lost her dad in an accidental drowning.   She’s smart, responsible and strong… and she has a guardian angel. 

Guardian is slower-paced than my other books and at the very beginning, you might think that it is going to be sad, but it isn’t.  It’s full of twists and surprises and it evolves into what I hope is an uplifting, hopeful story.   My hope is that when readers finish it, they are left feeling really good… believing that everything must surely happen for a reason. 

If you’d like to check it out, you can find it here .  You can read an excerpt of it  here.

Anyway, I hope everyone is having a fantastic day.  I’m happy- because Fall is coming and it’s my favorite season.  Bonfires, cashmere socks, changing leaves… what’s not to love?   Talk to you guys later!!

4 Responses to “Why I Wrote Guardian”

  1. Wren Andre September 15, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Thanks for sharing that story, I truly believe that writing is a very healing process, whatever form it takes. I will check out the book – it sounds like a great story! I love fall too BTW – I’m starting to feel the chill in the air here, and it’s getting me in the mood. 😉

  2. erindanzer78 September 19, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    I agree with Wren; writing can be very therapeutic. Thank you for sharing this with us, Courtney. I lost my mom several years ago now and am still finding the guts to write the book I came up with to honor her. I think it’s great that you were able to write and find that solace. I will definitely check out that book.
    I also love the Fall. Besides the fact that my birthday is the first day of fall, I love the changing leaves, the cooler weather, the bonfires and playing in all of those leaf piles. 🙂 have a happy fall. 🙂

  3. Suzy Burns April 25, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Courtney I very much enjoyed reading all your books and like you I enjoy and am curious about mythology, but don’t really believe it. I enjoyed you Bloodstone saga reading the whole thing in 4 days and then moving on to the Moonstone saga – read the first two and eaglerly waiting for the new one.
    Guardian was wonderfullly written and I did feel happy after reading it. I am a preachers kid (PK) as well and love the Lord and know he does have a plan. I am sorry about your dad, but I am sure he would be proud to know that your wrote a book that touched people I know it touched me.

    • Courtney Cole April 28, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

      Thank you for your support, ladies! I really appreciate it! It’s very kind of you!!

Leave a Reply

