Courtney Cole Q&A

12 Sep

Hey guys!  I hope everyone is having a beautiful Monday so far!

I’ve been getting interesting questions lately via e-mail, so I thought that instead of answering each email, I’d just do a blog post.  I hope that’s okay with everyone!

Question:  If you’re 5’10”, how tall is your husband? 

Answer:  This question totally cracked me up so I’m going to answer it first.  My husband is 6′ 4″.  He’s tall enough that I can still wear heels when we go out.   🙂

Question:  How did you get the idea for The Bloodstone Saga?  Did you know when you began how it would unfold?

Answer:   I got the initial idea for The Bloodstone Saga one day when I was loading the dishwasher.  I was thinking about Fate and started wondering which famous tragic people would change their fates if they could, which led me to Cleopatra.

That train of thought somehow led me to the idea for Every Last Kiss.  But of course, I couldn’t stop there.  I’m a writer who loves twists and turns… so I immediately starting thinking about what kind of twists Fate might have in store for Macy. So, I knew from the beginning that she was actually a goddess, but I still felt as though I should write Every Last Kiss the way that I eventually did– I really wanted my readers to see how the Fates have tormented poor Harmonia (Macy) throughout the ages.

Question:  How many books will be in The Bloodstone Saga?

Answer:  I get this one a lot.  There will be four.  The first three are already released and I am working on the series finale, My Tattered Bonds, right now. It has a release date of January 1.

Question:  Which book that you have written is your favorite?

Answer:  So far, Book Three of The Bloodstone Saga (With My Last Breath) is my favorite.   I don’t really know why- I guess just because so much happened in it. Harmonia discovered who Raquel truly is and that was a big milestone.  I was chomping at the bit to reveal that, so it was a relief when I finally could.

Question:  Which other indie authors would you recommend?

Answer:  Wow- how long do you have?   If you want to learn about some really cool YA Indie authors, you should check out my YA Indie Carnival posts on Fridays.  I link to some really talented indie authors. 

Question:  Do you ever regret going indie?

Answer:  Heck no!  I love everything about it.  I love not answering to anyone, I love the creative freedom, I love the complete control that I have over my own work.   I wouldn’t change a thing.   If I ever regretted it, I would simply decide to pursue the traditional route instead.  And I don’t see that happening.  This is a little known fact:  I was actually in talks with a couple of agents regarding Every Last Kiss when my friend Wren Emerson persuaded me to try the Indie route instead and I’m so happy that I did.  I love what I’m doing and how I’m doing it too much to change my course at this point.

Question:  What do you do in your free time?

Answer:   Um, free time?  *blank stare*  What’s that?   In all seriousness, I don’t know many writers who have free time, myself included.  I’m constantly plotting, although sometimes when I’m plotting it looks like I am actually not doing anything since I’m just mulling things over in my head.   I do try and take a long walk every night.  There’s something about being outside at dusk that I’ve always enjoyed- it calms my mind and allows me to think.

Question:  Do you actually have a bloodstone to wear? 

Answer: Funny you should ask.  My 8-year old daughter saved up her allowance for several months (at $5 a week) and had my husband order  a bloodstone as a gift for me. I thought it was the sweetest thing ever.   Even though the bloodstone in my books is red, real bloodstones are generally green with red veins.  This is a picture of the one she bought for me:

Interesting aside… I am working with a book touring company for a big virtual book tour for the month of December which will lead up to the release of My Tattered Bonds on January 1. 

Anyway, I’m going to give away some really cool prizes.  But one of the prizes will be a specially made pendant- a replica of the bloodstone in my books.  I am working with a jewelry designer right now– and I’m going to buy two.  One for me and one for me to give away.  I’m really excited about that.   She’s also designing some bloodstone rings for the contest which are supercool.  They look like this: 

I’ll be giving three of these rings away, so definitely stay tuned for more details about my tour.  It’s going to be awesome.  I’ll share more details about the other awesome prizes later.

Okay, last question:   When the Bloodstone Saga is finished, what projects do you have lined up?

Answer:  I already have my next series in mind.  It’s going to be a spin-off series based on one of the characters that I’m going to introduce in My Tattered Bonds.  She’s fascinating and I can’t wait for you to meet her.   If everything goes well, I’ll release book one of my new series this winter.  It will be different from The Bloodstone Saga, although some of the Bloodstone characters will probably pop in from time to time.

Okay.  That does it for the questions… for now.  If you have anything you want me to answer, just shoot me an email at courtneycolewrites (at) gmail.com and I’ll save the questions up for another Q&A session. 

Hope everyone has a great day!!

5 Responses to “Courtney Cole Q&A”

  1. Beth September 12, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    Great post, Courtney! I’m so excited to read With My Last Breath, it’s waiting patiently on my Kindle. Just wanted to say that I love your books!

    • Courtney Cole September 13, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

      Thanks, Beth. That’s so sweet! You’ll have to let me know what you think about With My Last Breath!

  2. Sabrina September 12, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    Oooh, can’t wait for the promotion and contests! And too sweet about your daughter buying you a necklace. Can’t wait for My Tattered Bonds!

    • Courtney Cole September 13, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

      Thanks, Sabrina. You’ll have to check back for the contests— there’s going to be some really awesome prizes!

  3. JL Bryan September 13, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Good idea doing bloodstone jewelry giveaways!

Leave a Reply

