I Have Nicole Williams Again!! Woohoo!

9 Sep

It’s Friday… and that means Indie Carnival time!  YAY!!   And this week, one of my fave writerly girls is here again to answer a few interview questions for us.  Woohooo… it’s NICOLE WILLIAMS, author of Eternal Eden and Fallen Eden.

So, Nicole… what is your favorite time of the day to write? 

 I used to be a late night writer but after having my daughter I find I’m most creative and “fresh” early in the morning. Early in the morning as in 5-8am. The things we do for our love of writing . . .

 Edward or Jacob?

 Edward. But maybe Jacob. No, no . . . for sure Edward. Jacob—I guess?  Oh, I can’t choose. Obviously. Glad I’m not Bella.

 After you finish the third book in yourEden series, do you already have an idea of your next project?  Can you share any details?  *hopeful gaze*

 Yes and Yes! I’m working on a stand alone YA contemporary novel that will be released sometime in November/December.  Here’s a quick one-liner about it:

 Lucy’s always been a sucker for a hard luck case. Her latest one just so happens to be a smoking hot bad boy named Jude Ryder. Let the heartbreak begin.

 I’m also outlining a new series that takes place in a dystopian world. It’s In concept infancy so I’m not sure when the first book will be released, but I’ll keep everyone updated!

 Hypothetical:   You must evacuate your house in the middle of the night with only 2 minutes warning because of a zombie apocalypse situation.  Your family will accompany you, of course—so what three items do you grab to take with you?

 Why are these questions so hard to answer?

 So I guess I’m a survivalist because the first answers that popped to mind were iodine tablets so we could have fresh water, a flint for making a fire, and if there are zombies traipsing around out there, I want something to protect our family with. My husband’s gun, a baseball bat, a fry pan, or a hardback copy of Atlas Shrugged ought to do the trick!

 Writing question:  Do you edit as you go?   When you are in the editing phase at the end, how many drafts have you gone through before your work is polished?

 I don’t edit too much as I go through my first draft. I let the creative energy move me through the novel without stopping to edit. I usually go through four to six drafts before I feel like it’s ready to send off to my editor.

 What is your favorite color?

 Blue! Any shade, but my favorite one is the color of theMediterranean.

So, there you have it.  And you see why she’s one of my faves. What a sweetie.  Anywho… today is also super cool because we’re having an awesome book giveaway.  Here’s what you need to do to win:

TODAY’S GIVEAWAY [for people over 13, internationally]: Winners announced Sept. 16 at the next YA Indie Carnival. Just comment [include your email address] on any Q & A post ALL DAY TODAY and tweet the carnival [#yaindiecarnival] to win ebooks from the carnival authors.

Visit my colleagues to read other awesome interviews- and make sure to leave comments. The more comments you leave, the more chances to win free books!!   Have a great weekend, everyone!

7 Responses to “I Have Nicole Williams Again!! Woohoo!”

  1. krystallarson September 9, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Thank you for the awesome giveaway! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

  2. rachelcoles September 9, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    I know what you mean about editing as you go. It’s easy to get bogged down and lose track of the story if you keep stopping. I sometimes do it anyway if I decide I can’t stand the way it’s going.

    As for the zombie apocalypse, you should check out the CDC’s website. They did an exercise based on a zombie apocalypse. It was a serious exercise because the effects of zombies can emulate the operation of any pandemic through a population, but who said that the feds don’t have a sense of humor!

    • Patti Larsen September 9, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      Nicole, I’m with you during the apocalypse. You think of everything!

      And I’m all over the editing thing–pour it out first. Let the heart say what it needs to before the nasty mind takes over. 😉

  3. Laura A. H. Elliott September 9, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Note to self: *keep Atlas Shrugged by the front door in case of zombie apocalypse!* Great interview 🙂

  4. Amy Jones September 9, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Great interview ladies! You see Nicole, you’re smart and practical. The first thing that came to mind for me about the Zombie Apocolypse was saving my doggies (which would probably count for two)… and then we would all starve to death anyway. Not good!

  5. Julie Witt September 10, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    Terrific interview!! And what an awesome giveaway 😀 Thanks so much for both!

  6. trgraves September 10, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    I never even would have thought about the iodine tablets. I must not be a survivalist. Good job on the interview.

Leave a Reply

