YA Indie Carnival: First Paragraph

26 Aug

It’s Friday again!  Woohooo!!

So, this Friday, I’m still excited because the third book in The Bloodstone Saga was released yesterday (early!) and I’m still pumped about that.  

With My Last Breath  is my fave in the series so far, so I’m really hoping that you like it, too. 

Today’s topic in the Indie Carnival is:  What is the first paragraph in your current work in progress? 

Well…. I’m currently hard at work on the series finale of The Bloodstone Saga (My Tattered Bonds).   And this is the first paragraph:

     Her skin glistened in the firelight.  She was ghostly pale and she seemed to shimmer as she hovered over a young man, her dark reddish-brown hair curling around her slender, naked shoulders.  The man was no older than twenty years old and he watched her in rapt fascination as she gyrated above him, sliding her hands over his bare chest as she bent her head to kiss the smooth skin where she had touched.

And yes, I know that it will make no sense to you as it is referencing someone that you haven’t yet met.  But….you… will.  And she’s a very colorful, interesting character.  And actually, I might as well tell you, she’s someone who my next series will be about.  I can’t wait to introduce you.

But anyway.  Enough about that- because that’s all I can say right now.  I hope that each one of you has a spectacular weekend.  The weather here seems more and more like Fall everyday, which I LOVE because that’s my favorite season. I can’t wait to break out the sweaters and go walking through the crunchy leaves.

You might want to check out my colleagues’ sites today– they’ll be posting their first paragraphs, too.  I’m certainly going to look.   Talk to you later- hugs to all!

 

7 Responses to “YA Indie Carnival: First Paragraph”

  1. Patti Larsen August 26, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    hmm… opening with such provocative material… 😉 Nice!

  2. Abbi Glines (@AbbiGlines) August 26, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    Like it! Can’t wait for more =)

  3. Dani @ Refracted Light Reviews August 26, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    [fanning myself]…wow! That’s quite an opening. 😉

  4. Laura A. H. Elliott August 26, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    I want her skin & her hair:) Great opening…

  5. Tina Renee Graves August 27, 2011 at 3:25 am #

    I think it’s great and really makes me want to read more. Enjoy the weekend!

  6. Heather Cashman August 27, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Congrats on the early release and for sharing this novel. I look forward to meeting your characters. They sound mysterious.

  7. Alicia McCalla August 27, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Courtney, that was such a teaser. Sigh. Now I wanna know more. LOL!

Leave a Reply

