YA Indie Carnival: Where Do I Draw My Inspiration?

19 Aug

Happy Friday, everyone!!  Woohoo!  The weekend is almmooossstttt here.  The sky is blue, the air is crisp and cool- it almost seems like Fall, my favorite time of  year. This makes me happy. Sigh.

The question for today’s YA Indie Carnival is… Where do I draw my inspiration?   The answer:  Everywhere.

Seriously.  There’s no way I could pinpoint any one thing.  I allow my mind to wander when I’m doing things like washing dishes, sitting on the beach, folding laundry, going for walks… and I never know where it is going to go. 

I’m definitely influenced by my surroundings.  I came up with the idea  for my next series (which I can’t wait to write, by the way!) when I was walking along the beach of Lake Michigan.  Here’s a picture of that day:

The wind picked up, causing the waves to crash… big black clouds rolled in so quickly off of the water.  They raised the red flag to bring in everyone from the water and the air just crackled with the impending storm.  And it was the MOOD that brought me my idea, not the actual events of what was going on around me.

I can’t really describe it, but as a writer, I am driven by emotion.  When I write a scene, I shoot for making people feel something, whether it is joy, angst, sadness, etc.  So, I am inspired by things that do the same for me. 

Is that a vague enough answer?  🙂  

I hope some of my colleagues will have clearer answers for you.  You should totally check them out– I’m sure their answers will be interesting.  I hope everyone has a fantabulous weekend!! 

5 Responses to “YA Indie Carnival: Where Do I Draw My Inspiration?”

  1. rachelcoles August 19, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    I feel the exact same way. I draw from emotion most of the time, at least that is the core of everything else, what drives the story. I love your picture of Lake Michigan. We were recently in that area visiting family.

  2. Patti Larsen August 19, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    I love that, Courtney! So funny… I was in the car last night, hub driving, watching the sunset while he chattered on as he always does, and heard a voice say, “There’s magic in a sunset.” Nice deep drawl, waiting for me to figure out who he is. Inspiration literally happens all the time. WE HAVE THE BEST JOB!!!

  3. Laura A. H. Elliott August 19, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    Great post:) Yes. It’s all about the feelings. I have a VERY funny story about the weather changing while my hubby and I took a motorcycle ride up to the Warren Dunes. Maybe one day we can share Lake Michigan stories over a glass of wine:)

  4. Tina Renee Graves August 20, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    I’m always amazed when something odd inspires me…like a wierd wrinkle around a a sales woman’s mouth. Especially after I get lost thinking exactly how I would describe it in such a way that a reader would have a crisp mental picture.

  5. Amy Jones August 20, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I know what you mean Courtney! I got the idea for my next series when I was folding laundry one day. I was thinking about something my grandmother told me once and it just evolved from there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

