YA Indie Carnival: Biggest Surprise as an Indie

12 Aug

Happy Friday!  Woooohooooo!!!   So, I’ve spent a good portion of the week getting my 16-year old son (Gah!  I’m a mother of a teenager!) enrolled in high school. It’s been a week-long event.  So, I’m happy to focus on writing stuff today. 

The question for the YA Indie Carnival today is: What has been the biggest surprise about being an indie?

I thought and thought on this one, and honestly, there hasn’t been much about the actual process that I wasn’t prepared for. I am, by nature, a planner- at least with everything except my writing.  I research things.  A LOT.  So, I knew when I decided to become an indie exactly how much work it entailed.  There were no surprises there.  I knew I would be working hard, I knew I would be fighting stigma, I knew that I would be marketing a LOT.   None of those things surprised me.

I guess the only thing that did surprise me was kind of falling into the cozy little community of indies.  I had no idea that indie writers were so welcoming and nice- and coming from a Kansas girl who LOVES welcoming and nice, that was a nice surprise.   I adore my indie friends and several of them have rapidly become some of the best friends that I have.

And speaking of them, you might want to pay them a visit after you leave my site. I’m sure they have more interesting things to say on this topic than I do.  I’m coming up blank today…My mind is kind of muddled from working so hard on Book 3 of the Bloodstone Saga.  Which, by the way, will be released on September 1!  Whoohooo!  I’m so excited.  I’ll be revealing the cover next week. I can’t wait!! 

Have a great weekend!

5 Responses to “YA Indie Carnival: Biggest Surprise as an Indie”

  1. Heather Cashman August 12, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Congrats on the release! I also am wallowing in the love of the other indies. While twitter is a love-fest (as a fellow blogger pointed out), I feel much greater support from the other indie authors out there. Thanks, Courtney!

  2. Laura A. H. Elliott August 12, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Courtney, when I had made the decision to go indie price-point was a big consideration for me. If I didn’t have you and Michelle and Wren weighing in on your thoughts, I don’t think I could have made the informed decision that I did. You all have been so generous to a newbie like me and that support really helped me through. I felt like I had a bunch of buddies around when I was struggling with certain aspects and that made all the difference in the world. And that all added to the already fun-factor of Indie, which was another great surprise. Going indie for me was simply so much more fun than the traditional way.

  3. Amy Jones August 12, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Hi Courtney! I have also found the friendliness of the indie community and the friendships I’ve made there to be a pleasant and rewarding surprise. 🙂

  4. T. R. Graves August 13, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    I can honestly say I had no idea how much ‘work’ this would be. But honestly, is anything this rewarding really work? Thanks for your kindness.

  5. Cyndi Tefft August 16, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    Congrats on your upcoming release! 🙂

Leave a Reply

