YA Indie Carnival: What Am I Reading?

5 Aug

Happy Friday, y’all!  You know what that means?   The YA Indie Blog Carnival!  Today’s topic is… what am I reading?   And that is actually a very good topic, because I get asked that a lot. 

So… this is what is on Courtney Cole’s nightstand in her overflowing TBR pile.  (And yes, I know that I just spoke in the third person.  I’m weird like that). 

I just finished reading Madly and Wolfhardt by M. Leighton.  I LOVED it, which  you probably already know because I recently wrote a review about it which you can find it here.   It was such a breath of fresh air– it was a YA novel about a mermaid princess, and it involved fairytales and lore and was just amazing.

Next up on my TBR list is Fallen Eden by Nicole Williams. It is the highly anticipated sequel to Eternal Eden, which I totally loved.   Eternal Eden was sweet and romantic and I don’t doubt that Fallen Eden will be anything but perfect.

Right after I read Fallen Eden, I’m going to read Solstice by P.J. Hoover.  It apparently involves mythology, which as you know, I’m a biiiig fan of.   It’s a novel combining mythology and dystopia, and to be honest, I’m not a huge dystopian reader, but come on- the main character’s name is Piper.  And that’s a really great name.   And also, the book trailer for Solstice just won the Books in Sync trailer contest.  You can see it here:  http://www.booksinsync.com/booktrailercontest.html

People always ask me what I’m reading and then they always ask.. How do you find the time?  And that’s a very valid question.  It’s hard to find the time nowadays, but I always MAKE the time to read.   I’ve been a reader since I was a little girl- it is a great decompressor.   There are two things that I must have at the end of a long day:  A hot bath and a good book.   Often, I combine the two and read a good book in the hot bath. 

Anyway… these are just a couple of the things that are in my TBR list.  To read what some of my colleagues’ are reading, check out their blogs today. Hope everyone has a great weekend! 

6 Responses to “YA Indie Carnival: What Am I Reading?”

  1. Heather Cashman August 5, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Love the blog. My TBR pile is growing so fast I’m going to need another room in my house. Thanks for the suggestions.

  2. Amy Jones August 5, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    Great picks Courtney! I’ve got them stashed in my TBR pile too. I agree with you about finding to read each day. It helps you wind down and I believe it makes as better writers!

  3. PJ Hoover August 5, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    Thank you for the congratulations and the book love! Enjoy your reading and writing, and I hope you get time to relax too 🙂

  4. Dani @ Refracted Light August 5, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    Loved Madly and I can’t wait to jump back into Brynn & William’s story…..and Solstice is on my short list to read. Awesome picks Ms. Cole, just awesome.

  5. Tina Renee Graves August 6, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    I have these books on my TBR list. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Patti Larsen August 10, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    I just commented to one of the other Indie ladies I need a month off to catch up on my reading–everything looks so tempting!

Leave a Reply

