Why Do I Write Paranormal?

29 Jul

Welcome to this Friday’s edition of the YA Indie Carnival!  Woo-hoo!  Happy Friday! 

Today’s topic is:  Why do I write Paranormal?

That’s pretty easy, actually.  Because there is nothing else that is so much fun to write, in my opinion.  In paranormal fiction, anything can happen.  And I mean anything.    In my book, Fated, Macy (Harmonia) gets to ride a pegasus and fight a dragon, for pete’s sake.   If I can think it up, the Paranormal genre will take it, and I love that.   There are no boundaries to the outrageousness. 

The trick in writing paranormal is to make it seem realistic and not too fantastical to be plausible.  And that is more difficult than it sounds.  Seriously, have you ever tried writing about killing a dragon as though it is something that is an everyday thing?    Not a simple feat, my friends. 

So while it is fun, it offers challenges of its own that I would never have expected.  But honestly, I wouldn’t have it any other way.  Out of my four YA books that are currently on the market, THREE of them are paranormal. 

So anyway, that’s my answer.  They say that blondes have the most fun… but let me tell you something. My hair has been every color of the rainbow and I can say with certainty… that Paranormal writers do!

Please take a moment and click on some of the links below to hear some of my colleagues’ answers as you make your way around the YA Indie Carnival today.   Have a great weekend! 

9 Responses to “Why Do I Write Paranormal?”

  1. Dani @ Refracted Light July 29, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Anything can happen….that pretty much sums up why I read paranormal. I believe it when you say paranormal authors have the most fun; how awesome is it to bring your most fantastic day dreams to life…..and do it as a JOB? Pretty freakin’ awesome.

  2. Amy Jones July 29, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Hi Courtney!

    As usual, I enjoyed your post. We are such a fun bunch of creative souls, aren’t we? YA books are the bridge to hope and the added paranormal aspect can make a few hours of your life a real adventure at times, don’t you agree?

    Looking forward to your next post!

  3. Heather Cashman July 29, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I do love the idea of having no constraints. It makes writing become anything we want it to be. An author, through their work, can live any life they want, and then give that experience to their readers. It’s a unique experience they can’t have anywhere else.

  4. Laura A. H. Elliott July 29, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    I think we should get T-shirts printed up that say Paranormal Writers Have More Fun & bumper stickers too:) Well said Courtney! I love the possibilities in paranormal fiction and I love the subtle tension that lies in creating a situation that truly lets the reader suspend their disbelief… [PS. I got a new blog now…Laurasmagicday.wordpress.com :)]

    • Amy Jones July 29, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

      I love the bumper sticker idea Laura! 🙂

  5. cynditefft July 29, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    Agreed! If you can think it up, you can make it happen in paranormal, but you’re right: the delivery has to be such that the reader will buy it and follow along. Harder said than done! Fantasy is grounded in reality, strange as that sounds. Tell a reader pigs can fly and they’ll believe you, but have a character react in a plastic way and you’ve lost them. It’s truly an art!

  6. Patti Larsen July 30, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    I know, right? Paranormal is the best thing since… wishing I had powers as a nerd girl in High School so I could make the bullies suffer… LOL awesome!

  7. trgraves July 30, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    Courtney, you are so right about the lack of boundaries in paranormal writing. It opens us up to world changing opportunities. Great blog.

  8. rachelcoles August 2, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    I love that you commented on how difficult it is to walk the line between fantasy imagination and making things seem real because we still need a consistent set of rules to suspend our disbelief. Really observant.

Leave a Reply

