Review: Madly and Wolfhardt by M. Leighton

26 Jul

So… I had the pleasure of reading M.Leighton’s new book, Madly and Wolfhardt, before it was released to the public. I know.  Go ahead and hate me now.  But don’t hate me too much– because it’s availalbe for download now.  I’ll give you those details here in a bit. 

But first, because it’s my nature, I must give you my opinion on this book.  And because it’s my nature, I’m not going to hold back– I’m going to tell you what I really thought.   I. Loved. It.  I don’t really even know how to describe it to you… it’s ethereal, original, light, airy, beautiful.  And when I say that it is light and airy, I don’t mean that is lacks meat in the plot.  There’s plenty of plot to sink your teeth into.  Rather, it just has a magical quality throughout the book. 

Here is a brief blurb:

Madly is your average nearly-eighteen year old girl—for a mermaid princess, that is.

 Madly James is thoroughly enjoying her internship in Slumber when the unthinkable happens—there’s a prison break in Atlas, Madly’s home beneath the sea.   A traitor has set free eight Lore, the spirits of what humans know as fairy tales, and they are making their way to Slumber to awaken their descendants. 

 The first spirit to arrive is that of Ulrich Wolfhardt, a man that was once obsessed with wolves and a young maiden he would follow through the woods.  After a bite from a wolf, Wolfhardt’s obsession with the girl became an unnatural hunger and the young maiden’s grandmother cursed him with a fate worse than death.  And now he’s back…with a vengeance and a bite that can infect others as well.

 Madly must learn the identity of Wolfhardt’s descendant and stop him before he kills again and spreads his curse across the earth.  But the only person strong enough to help Madly is Jackson, the Sentinel who vowed to protect her and the one person capable of breaking her heart.  Can Madly resist forbidden love long enough to save the world from Wolfhardt?  Or will she have to sacrifice her heart and her destiny to save the ones she loves?

Before I go any further, I have to make a confession.  Out of all of M.Leighton’s leading men, Jackson is my new fave.  Hands down, no question.  He’s sooooo sexy.  Tall, handsome, protective, lethal… yikes.  Is it hot in here?   He’s just my kind of guy.  So, I call dibs!  🙂

Mady is different from anything else that M.Leighton has written to date. It’s lighter and oh-so-unique.   I adore this storyline.   M.Leighton’s imagination shines in this book, and she backs it up with the stellar writing abilities that we have come to expect from her.   Honestly, not only is Jackson my new fave leading man, but Madly is also my new fave M.Leighton book.  It has everything in it that you could possibly want in a paranormal romance:  Mystery, magic, romance, steamy leading man, imagination, strong herione. 

My recommendation:  Right now, this second, click here to buy it on Amazon and start reading it today.  You won’t regret it.  You’ll be sucked in from the very first page.  What?  You need it from Barnes and Noble for your Nook?  Okay.  Click here. 

About M. Leighton:

There’s more to M. Leighton than the fact that she’s one of my fave people in the world.  Michelle is a native of Ohio, but she relocated to the warmer climates of the South where she can be near the water all summer and miss the snow all winter. Possessed of an overactive imagination from early in her childhood, Michelle finally found an acceptable outlet for her fantastical visions: writing fiction. Six of Michelle’s novels can now be found on Amazon, as well as several other sites. She’s currently working on sequels, though her mind continues to churn out new ideas, exciting plots and quirky characters. Pick one up and enjoy a wild ride through the twists and turns of her vivid imagination.

Other M.Leighton books:

  • Blood Like Poison: For the Love of a Vampire
  • Blood Like Poison: Destined for a Vampire
  • Caterpillar
  • The Reaping
  • Wiccan

Find M. Leighton:

2 Responses to “Review: Madly and Wolfhardt by M. Leighton”

  1. Wren Andre July 26, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    I’m sold. Sounds awesome! Thanks for the review.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. YA Indie Carnival: What Am I Reading? « Courtney Cole - August 5, 2011

    […] which  you probably already know because I recently wrote a review about it which you can find it here.   It was such a breath of fresh air– it was a YA novel about a mermaid princess, and it […]

Leave a Reply

