Super Awesome Interview with Author, Nicole Williams

18 Jun

 

Yay!  I’m so excited.  Today on my blog, I am interviewing Nicole Williams, author of Eternal Eden.  I read this book a couple of weeks ago and loved it.  You can read my review of it here.  I highly recommend it.

Anyway.  It turns out, Nicole is a pretty nice girl.  So, in the never-know-a-stranger style that I always sport, I asked her for an interview.  And here she is.  Yay!!

1.  Okay, so I have to let you know.  Your book, Eternal Eden, is A-MAZ-ING! I loved it.  Can you tell everyone else  a little bit about it?

 I’d love to!

 College sophomore Bryn Dawson is a self-proclaimed poster child for normal. However, the day William Hayward enters her life, normalcy is the last thing Bryn will be able to count on if she wants to be with him. Too mysterious and appealing to be good for a girl, Bryn feels drawn to him in a way that seems out of her control—as if fate is orchestrating it.

Despite every red flag and warning siren going off in her head telling her not to, Bryn falls hard for William, knowing he’s categorically different from anyone she’s ever met. She never imagined how right she was. When William takes her deeper into the rabbit hole of his world, Bryn must decide just how much she is willing to sacrifice to be with him, knowing no matter what, fate always finds a way to have the last laugh.

Spinning a new twist on star-crossed lovers, Eternal Eden will put Bryn through a gauntlet of turmoil, challenging her to find the power within herself to become the heroine in her own story.

 2.  Can you tell me a little bit about Nicole Williams

 Is it just me, or would writer’s rather take a week off from their laptops than write about themselves?

 Had to preface that before going into my lame spiel (sucks in a deep breath and here I go) . . . I was born and raised inSpokane,Washingtonand am still here, raising a family of my own. I double majored in Business Management and Economics atWhitworthCollegeand spent the majority of my career working as a Technical Recruiter for a major software development company in theSeattlearea. I became a stay-at-home mom when my daughter was born back in 2009 and it’s the greatest job ever! I married the kind of man women dream about (or read about!), and after ten years together, I still get that stomach stop, drop and roll feeling when he looks at me a certain way. Writing has been a lifelong passion and hobby, and no matter what, I’ll be writing to my grave.

 3. If you could be a character from your book, who would it be and why?

 It would have to be Patrick. I’m not quick-witted, nor particularly humorous, although I’ve always wanted to be. He’s light-hearted, confident, surfs, has a killer sense of style, and lives under the assumption the world revolves around him a good portion of the time (I gave up on that idea when I was four, but I wouldn’t mind be reminded what it felt like for a 24 hour period!).

 4.  Okay, this is very important because my partner in crime, Wren Emerson and I have an ongoing debate about this topic.  Are you a plotter or a pantser?  (meaning, do you write from a strict outline or do you fly by the seat of your pants?)

 A little of both, but mostly a pantser. I like to let my characters go and hope they get themselves into trouble. Lots of trouble!

 5.  Chocolate or vanilla?

 Chocolate. Always have been and always will be. My husband’s one of those vanilla people. Opposites really do attract.

 6.  Coffee or tea?

 Coffee, in unhealthy quantities. Living inWashingtonState, there’s no shortage of coffee, although my favorite is Kona in a French Press at my kitchen table. I wish I was more of a tea drinker, but I’m just not that sophisticated yet. Maybe when I grow up . . .

 7.  What did you grow up reading?  And when did you realize that you wanted to be a writer?

 I had an impressive book collection growing up, my parents are to thank for that. I still have most of the books and read them to my daughter now. All the classics of course, but I really liked the Bernstein Bears when I was little, then progressed onto Sweet Valley High, Star Wars (label me a nerd now!), Nancy Drew, and anything about horses. I was reading adult chapter books my parents had prescreened starting around second grade because I tore through books so quickly. I took a bit of a reading hiatus in high school and college, because free time was next to non-existent. I settled right back into reading after the college textbooks were put away and go through reading spurts where I’ll read a few books a week, and then only read a couple a month. Just depends on my mood.

 I don’t recall ever deciding when I wanted to be a writer. I guess it was always just a part of me. I was crafting and illustrating stories when I was a toddler. I’d dictate and my dad would write the words down. When I decided I wanted to make a serious run of it, the whole getting published/feeling naked in front of the world thing, was about three years ago.

 8.  Do you listen to music while you write?

 Almost all the time. I make soundtracks for my WIP and if a song’s really speaking to me for the particular scene I’m writing, I’ll hit repeat and listen to the darn thing a few dozen times if need be.

 9. If Eternal Eden was made into a movie, who do you see playing your characters?

 I love seeing talented no-name actors in movies, especially movies created from a book. Mainly because I have a picture in my mind of this person after spending three hundred pages or so with them, so no matter who’s cast, it’s not going to match who I’m imagining. However, if they were to go a cast a huge-Hollywood name,  that would distract me even more.

 Short-winded answer is, I’d love to see a bunch of talented fresh faces in Eternal Eden.

 10. Boxers or briefs?  Oh, wait a sec.  That doesn’t apply.  Um, what is your writing process?

 Tighty-whiteys!

 Here’s my writing process in the form of an equation (this is scientific stuff people) :

 Novel = (Passion + Caffeine x Sleepless Night) / Chaos

 I have the imagination of a five-year-old, so there’s never a shortage of story ideas up there. Once I pick one out to run with, I do a basic outline and then it’s time to write. I write like a crazy person, a crazy person on death-row. I don’t let anyone see my first drafts. Ever. I cringe reading through at least half of it on the first read through. After that, I go through it again and again, revision after revision, until it’s ready to move onto the editor.

 And then it starts all over again.

 11. What book are you reading right now?  Who is sitting on your nightstand?

 A ton! I just re-read the Hunger Games (my fav!) and am reading, Grey Eyes, Meant to Be, I Wish . . ., and Cross My Heart. I’m reading a ton of indies right now because, other than me being one, I’m finding books out there that are right up there with big-name authors.

 12. Why did you decide to “go Indie?”

 After receiving a Kindle for Christmas, and after about seventy-five rejection letters, I decided to look into indie publishing. All I can say is that I’m SO thankful I did and it has surpassed my expectations in ways I never imagined.

 13. When you are not writing (is that even possible?) what do you love to do?

 Too many things that can take me away from my writing!

 I have a twenty month little girl who is full of life, so she keeps me busy making mud pies, washing crayon off the walls, and blowing bubbles in the backyard. Living in the great Northwest affords an endless variety of outdoor activities we try to take advantage of as a family. We love the lake, camping, sand-bumming it, and hiking. I run, ride my mountain bike when I can, and try to go fishing with my dad a few times a summer. I love making homemade bread, going on play-dates with my daughter, and sneaking in date nights with my husband.

 14. And last, because I can’t end an interview on a thirteenth question, if you were stranded on a deserted island with only ONE thing to eat for the rest of your life, what would it be?   (Don’t laugh- this is very important stuff).

 This might be the most difficult question yet. Pizza is the obvious answer, but also the cliché one as well, so to be a tad more original I’d have to say peanut butter. Straight out of the jar, just leave me a spoon.

So…. there you have it.  Is she not so sweet that you just want to scoop her up and hug her?   Okay, fine.  Maybe I’m just a slightly over-exuberant person. But still.  Anyway, moving on… here are Nicole’s links in case you’d like to read more about her or read her awesome book:

Thanks for being here Nicole!!  🙂

One Response to “Super Awesome Interview with Author, Nicole Williams”

  1. Nicole Williams June 18, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Thanks so much for the opportunity, Courtney! I really enjoyed your interview questions and absolutely love your witty humor!

Leave a Reply

