Why I YA by Demetra Brodsky

10 May

I have had the pleasure recently of getting to know Demetra Brodsky, an up-and-coming YA novelist.  Trust me, you’ll be seeing quite a bit more of her in the near future.  But for now, I thought I’d host her on my blog and ask the burning question:   Why does she YA?   Enjoy her answers!

LET’S DO IT FOR JOHNNY…OR, Why Write for Teenagers?

 My name is Demetra Brodsky and I write books for young adults. I am currently seeking representation for my novel—FATAL THREADS—a young adult paranormal modern myth, inspired by The Homeric Hymn to Demeter. When I tell people, some people, that I write YA fiction, their facial expressions vary from raised to furrowed eyebrows. But the head nod remains the same. “Why young adults; don’t you want to write real fiction?” Someone actually asked me that. Apparently, they hadn’t read The Hunger Games trilogy or gone past the 3rd Harry Potter book. Young Adult fiction isn’t what it used to be. Don’t get me wrong. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton will forever be in my top ten of all time. After all, in eighth grade, I was convinced I was going marry Ponyboy and live on a ranch. My best friend at the time, naturally, would be walking down the aisle with Johnny, once he finished the Karate Kid movie that is. And to this day, I can’t see Rob Lowe on Brothers and Sisters, or his most recent guest appearances on Californication, without thinking “There’s Sodapop Curtis,” And let’s face it, the man doesn’t age.

 So, why do I write for young adults?  I have a question of my own. Why not?

 YA novels today have guts (The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins). They give you the chills (Shiver, by Maggie Steifvater), show the damage (Freefall, by Mindi Scott), exploit the sinister side of the cool and beautiful (A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray), expose the truth (Witch Child, by Celia Rees), and make you believe in miracles (If I Stay, by Gayle Foreman).

 Surrounded by news of a failing economy, intolerance, skyrocketing divorce rates and war, I need an escape. I want to write a world where things going bump in the night are on the page, not the news channel. Young adult books today have incredible story lines, written by talented authors who push boundaries in fiction. So maybe I’m not “doing it for Johnny. I’m doing it for readers and lovers of fiction. And if you pick up a new YA book today, you won’t be disappointed.

“When your own mother plans for you to be born as the reincarnation of Nyx—the goddess of night—darkness follows you no matter where you go.”

     — FATAL THREADS

To learn more about Demetra (and I recommend that you do), you can find her here:

8 Responses to “Why I YA by Demetra Brodsky”

  1. Keira Lea May 11, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    Well said, Demetra! I love your view of YA fiction! I hope an agent and publisher pick you up soon because I want to read FATAL THREADS. 🙂

  2. Rachel Harris May 11, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    As Demetra’s newest CP, I can tell you that this book rocks. . . but more importantly, the woman does. Demetra is encouraging, passionate, and knowledgable about the industry. And she’s a great ‘sister,’ too. 🙂

    Thanks Courtney for another great post!

  3. Jacquelyn Wheeler May 11, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    This is a perfect summary of what I see in YA and why I write it. We were all young adults once, and YA fiction takes us back to the dreams and disappointments we had when the world was a bit fresher to us. I get enough of grown-up life all day at work, thank you very much, and when I come home, all I want to do is escape. YA fits the bill perfectly.

  4. Bruce B May 11, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    What a thrill to have a daughter-in-law who is so talented. Being able to tap into the thoughts and experiences of YAs and put those on a page as well as Demetra does is a gift. Bravo!

    • Demetra Brodsky May 13, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

      Thanks, Bruce! You are one hip dude! : )

  5. Lindsay May 11, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    I never read it when I was a YA (I don’t remember anywhere near the variety there is today), but I know some folks like it just because the pacing is quicker and you “cut to the chase” without a lot of tedious backstory and description. (That’s what they tell me anyway!) Of course, I write my adult fiction that way too. I don’t have the longest attention span. *g*

    Anyway, good luck with the agent hunt!

  6. Lani May 11, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    Great post! You’re book sounds so so amazing!

    • Demetra Brodsky May 13, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks, Lani. Good things to come for all the wonderful aspiring YA authors out there!

Leave a Reply

