Interview with author M. Leighton

6 May

I have been lucky enough to get an interview with the talented M. Leighton on my website today.  She is the author of four paranormal romances.  I’ve personally read two of them so far and they were delicious.  The other two are on my To-Be-Read pile and I can’t wait to get to them!  

I just read The Reaping last week and it was… Amazing.  Awesome.  Breathtaking.  (Literally.  I was holding my breath a couple of times).   The ending is actually still with me.  How did you come up with this idea?  Are you like Stephen King and the idea came to you in a nightmare? 

Admittedly, I have some horrendous nightmares, but I have yet to get any book ideas from them.  If ever I venture into horror, I’ll be set.  No, the idea for The Reaping was quite different than the finished product.  That’s not surprising, however, as that always happens with my books.  They evolve as I type and, in the end, they sort of write themselves.

 I also read Blood Like Poison:  For the Love of a Vampire.  And it was fantastic as well.  You know, I was unsure about it before I started because vampires have been done quite a lot lately.  But I was pleasantly surprised.  You managed to bring unique elements into your vampires- elements that I haven’t seen before.  How did you come up with your ideas for this one?

I’m always thinking, “Wouldn’t it be cool if…” or “I’d really like to see a…”, so I took the basic vampire and added all my daydreams.  Well, not all of them.  I have several different versions of vampires and vampirism.  I have to save some good stuff for each of themJ

What kind of writer are you?  A Plotter or a Pantser, like me?  (Meaning… do you write to an outline or fly by the seat of your pants?)

I am undoubtedly a “pantser.”  I could try to be a plotter all day long, but it would be a waste of time.  I have dozens of different outlines by the time my stories are complete and none of them are anything like the finished product.  I’m weird that way J

  Do you listen to music while you write?

Never.  I might listen to some before I start a particular scene or while I’m trying to work out a plot detail, but when I sit down to write, I have to have complete silence.

What do you do for a hobby?    What is a typical day like for M. Leighton?     

I guess my hobby is writing.  That or watching good movies.  I love to get lost in a great movie.

A typical day for me is only typical in its unpredictability.  The only things that I do every day without fail are have coffee every morning and follow it up with reading some of the Bible.  After that, it’s anybody’s guess what I might get into that day.  I might spend the day dreaming about my characters or my plot or I might crank out 10 thousand words by lunch.  I never live the same day twice.

Who is your favorite character in your books?  (Incidentally, so far, mine is Bo.  I think I’m a little in love with him).  Who is the most fun to write?

Bo.  Hands down.  Whew!   Is it hot in here?

The most fun to write, however, was Rainn from Caterpillar.  When the story started to turn dark in Caterpillar, I had to delete most of her dialogue, but I fully intend to further develop her.  After all, I have eight more books to spend with her.

Quick—If you were stranded on a desert island with only ONE dessert, what would it be? 

Apple Chimi-Cheesecake.  They used to serve it at Applebee’s.  I almost had an aneurysm when they took it off the menu.  Boo!

Which of your books was your favorite to write?

There were great, fun, easy parts of each, as well as some trying parts.  The only one that really stands out is my first novel, one I never published.  It flowed out in one long, obsessive, 14-day marathon.  I had a blast!

What is your favorite all-time book?  And what did you read growing up?

The Wolf and the Dove by Kathleen Woodiwiss.  That also happens to be one of the books I grew up reading.  My mother read romance books and I used to sneak and read them, too.  When I read The Wolf and the Dove, I was hooked.  It was everything a romance should be.  I lost it in a move at some point and have yet to get another copy, but one day I will.

 Where can people find you online?  

  Where can they buy your books? 

Lastly, what is something about you that no one would think to ask?  Is there anything else about you that you’d like your readers to know? 

I’m an avid animal lover.  No animals were harmed in the production of my books.

Thank you for having me, Courtney.  It’s been a pleasure working with you and I look forward to watching your career blossom.

Thank you so much for being on my blog today, Michelle.  I’m a big fan and I can’t wait to read the rest of your books!

About Michelle:

M. Leighton is a native of Ohio, but she relocated to the warmer climates of the South where she can be near the water all summer and miss the snow all winter.  Possessed of an overactive imagination from early in her childhood, Michelle finally found an acceptable outlet for her fantastical visions:  writing fiction.  Four of Michelle’s novels can now be found on Amazon, as well as several other sites.  She’s currently working on sequels, though her mind continues to churn out new ideas, exciting plots and quirky characters.  Pick one up and enjoy a wild ride through the twists and turns of her vivid imagination.

One Response to “Interview with author M. Leighton”

  1. Rachel Harris May 9, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    Great interview! I am not familiar with M. Leighton’s work but am going to check out her work now. Interviews like these are double edged swords–I love learning about new authors and books I’ve yet to discover, but then my poor TBR pile continues to grow (while my bank account dwindles, ha!)

    Thanks girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

